The SoundCloud pricing plan will force anyone who is a regular content creator into their Go Pro Unlimited offer which is normally about $180 a year. Their Pro plan is $84 and only includes 6 hours of uploaded audio.
These rates are a lot of money to pay considering you could host your own website and upload unlimited audio for about $5 per month. Given that many audio content producers are non-commercial indy musicians or news podcasters, this price starts to push what most people feel they can afford for a hobby, and given that many people already have and need a website that already includes huge storage capacity, SoundCloud is charging a lot of an add-on.
SoundCloud offers a 30-day trial and money back guarantee which is explained on their site. However, cancelling the trail and getting your money back isn’t easy.
Unfortunately, like many other companies, SoundCloud makes it a little difficult to find how to cancel your subscription or get a refund.
There’s no easy method to contact any customer service representative, even from within their fairly expensive paid account.
On your account subscription page, there’s no button that says ‘cancel’ or ‘refund’ but instead you must ‘edit’ your subscription and then downgrade it. Once downgraded, there’s no message about any refund.
If you do a Google search on ‘SoundCloud Refund’ you’ll find a page that describes Canceling or downgrading your Pro subscription. Here are the instructions from that page.
For SoundCloud Pro or Pro Unlimited subscriptions, you can cancel at any time by going to your Subscriptions page.
Go to the pencil icon next to your current subscription status like this:
Next, click on ‘Don’t want to renew your plan?’:
You will then be shown the date that your plan will return to Free, and what the Free plan offers in comparison to your current Pro or Pro Unlimited plan. Click ‘Confirm & stop renewal’ to cancel your current subscription. If you change your mind, you can upgrade back to a Pro subscription at anytime here.
If you’re within the 30 days money back period after your first purchase, a refund will be processed automatically.
Please note: When you downgrade to a free plan, we will not delete anything from your account. The oldest uploads exceeding the limits of the free account will be hidden. You will be able to view these hidden tracks on your Tracks page.
All your hidden tracks along with their stats and comments will be saved so that whenever you choose to re-upgrade, everything will be restored.
SoundCloud Subscription Plans
Below is the pricing model for SoundCloud Pro and Pro Unlimited subscriptions.