Gmail – How to Delete Messages Rather Than Archive on iPhone and iPad

The default setting for Gmail accounts on Apple iPhone and iPad devices is to archive messages rather than delete them when you swipe left. To correct this, follow these steps:

  1. Go to settings.
  2. Tap on Passwords & Accounts.
  3. Tap on the Gmail account to change.
  4. Tap on Account to expand out the options for the account.
  5. Tap on Advanced at the bottom.
  6. In the middle section of the Advanced options list you’ll find the “Move Discarded Messages Into” option. There is most likely a checkmark next to Archive Mailbox. Tap on Deleted Mailbox.
  7. Go back to Account.
  8. Tap Done.

Now when you swipe left for an email you’ll see Delete is an option.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.